Brave enough now

Written June 28 @ 7:30 am, right before I headed out the door…

claytoolsI am on vacation! I signed up for a Yoga and Clay Centering Retreat in the woods of Wisconsin.  It combines two of my favorite things, and I have spoken and written on ‘centering’ so it should be right ‘up my alley’.  A bit nervous…not about anything huge, mostly that my ‘yoga clothes’ will be like the other kids’ 🙂  Do we ever get over that?

They say to bring your clay tools and I looked them over as I put them into a ziplock.  A piece of fishing line with a nail tied onto each end, a kitchen knife, a needle, a cast off sponge, a sea shell, a chop stick, and some stamps that I made… I will look like a clay hobo, I think, but I used to have the slick new tools, right out of the catalog…and they didn’t suit me. The things that I am bringing are the things that have purpose for me and fit my hands and my aesthetic.  They may not look like ‘clay tools’ to others, but they are mine, trial and error, collected over the past 25 years of potting.

I have only been to something like this once before.  Going on vacation by myself, with nowhere to be at any set time, no one to satisfy by myself- it seems selfish in some ways, lonely in others.  In some ways, I am looking forward to wandering thru towns, looking at art, shopping in out of the way places, and buying one special piece of art.  I don’t like touristy places, or the attractions on the main roads. In other ways, i expect it will feel somewhat empty at times, having no one with me.  That’s OK, I like the quiet.  I have been known to drive across South Dakota, 6 hours straight with no radio, no music…just quiet (drives the girls crazy!).

A bit worried about being away from Grisham that long, but he has a “sitter” and I think he will be fine.

A year ago, not sure I would have been game for this adventure…but I think I can handle it now.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary
    Jul 11, 2013 @ 08:37:53

    Enjoy!

    Reply

  2. lobo540@venturecomm.net
    Jul 11, 2013 @ 14:06:48

    Love it….
    Sent via BlackBerry by AT&T

    Reply

  3. vesselsandjourneys
    Jul 19, 2013 @ 05:57:59

    thank you lobo540 🙂
    Have a genius day!
    Pat

    Reply

Leave a Reply

