letting loose of safety

A house.  I have a house.  The apartment thing was OK for the transition- sort of like a cocoon is OK…its a place to live, its safe, its uncomplicated, you just wait to grow enough to leave it behind.

I wish I could tell you the whole story of the house…but its long and complicated, and I am pretty sure I would loose you somewhere along the way…and I have tried to write it- several times, in fact, because its so serendipitous…and the timing still blows me away.

dreamhouseI am sure you will remember me saying that I have wanted a house.  Not just any house…I had a list – a dream house list…and it seemed to me that being in a house should be cheaper than an apartment, because you pay for your own utilities in a house.  Well, I was in for “a rude awakening”, as my father would say…it became clear that I couldn’t afford to rent the dream house, if it even existed.

I looked in the newspaper classifieds, on Craigslist, on local bulletin boards, on rental websites, on property management websites.  I posted a “house wanted” ad in a company classified section. I looked everywhere.  I looked at alot of houses.  They were too big, or too small, in a bad area of town, didn’t allow pets, not private, too expensive, too run down, too far out of town, too risky.

Just when I was reconsidering staying in my apartment, because I couldn’t find anywhere I wanted to live, two different houses appeared in my path.  The first one was good sized, bland, sensible, – it didn’t fit the dream house list, but it had a yard, and they allowed cats…it wasn’t going to get any better than that.  I filled out an application, paid the $25 fee, and began to mentally move in.  The other house looked pretty tiny from my drive-by, probably not even worth meeting the landlord for a tour, but the door was purple, there was a porch swing and I felt obligated.

I honestly wasn’t expecting much when I walked in…I had seen lots of houses.  I caught my breath as I stepped in the door…cathedral ceilings, a ladder drew my attention to the right, and i saw an open loft tucked up high in the ceiling corner.  The landlord was talking, but I really wasn’t listening…my mind was trying to reconcile the outside of this house with the inside that I was seeing…in short, it was amazing…fun blues and warm browns, woodwork, an open kitchen with updated appliances…speechless, that’s what I was.  I hesitantly mentioned that I had a cat after I had already fallen in love with the place.  The landlord waved my words away, like a fly, and said, “cats are fine.” ( are you looking back at my long forgotten wish list?)Did I mention it was on a street in a historic area with great big trees.

Because I am impulsive, and make snap decisions that I often regret, I asked if I could think it over. Now you are probably saying, “think it OVER? It has everything on your list…what is there to think over?” But here is the thing- it wasn’t the sensible house, the sensible house had more room, and while it didn’t have many of the “wants” on the list, it had the necessities. It was safe, and uncomplicated… like a cocoon. The dream house has color, and its a little wild and a little crazy…it is going to take some getting used to…

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary
    Mar 12, 2013 @ 20:39:43

    You left me hanging! Hope the house behind the purple door becomes your dream home.

    Reply

    • vesselsandjourneys
      Mar 12, 2013 @ 20:55:41

      Yep, it’s time to be a little wild and a little crazy – I have done the sensible thing for much of my “adult with children” life, this time I did the fun thing…and who knows, it makes sense to me 🙂

      Reply

  2. Monica
    Mar 12, 2013 @ 21:26:48

    blessings on you…… and you might think you waited, and thought about it, but honey, I am betting you had decided at the purple door

    Reply

  3. Linda
    Mar 12, 2013 @ 21:38:59

    Good for you…it sounds wonderful!

    Reply

  4. Rocky L
    Mar 12, 2013 @ 23:28:44

    Sounds like it’s you….purple door and all!!! Lol Good luck and happy memories to be built!

    Reply

  5. Sarah
    Mar 13, 2013 @ 05:18:57

    I have not known you for very long…but you are NOT the sensible house-type person…Purple door AND a porch swing…that house was waiting for you ;).

    Reply

    • vesselsandjourneys
      Mar 13, 2013 @ 05:48:01

      LOL! You are all giving away my cover! I have perhaps been disguising myself as a sensible person, lol! And obviously not doing a great job! 🙂 ah well, the secret is out now 🙂 I am not sensible, I am wild and artistic and crazy, and I probably knew the moment I walked in, that I was taking it…but thinking it over was the sensible thing to do…aha, maybe that’s it, I am a wild artistic person who desperately tries to do the sensible thing…hence the inner conflict that led me on this journey 🙂 mystery solved. You may all return to your regularly scheduled lives 🙂 have a beautiful day!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Top Clicks

  • None
