Let it be…

We have reached one of those milestones of life…you know, first steps, first day of school, first date… first signs of menopause………………excellent.  One of those things that you know is coming, that you are prepared for, that you even empathize with others about, while secretly being glad that you are not as OLD as they are.  Well, its here…and I am.

So I dived into reading about this period of life, researching how to cope with it herbally, within diet.  You know, what to eat more of, and what to avoid, to alleviate symptoms.  I am sort of an anti-medication person…well, not sort of- I am.

Of course, it was all the usual things- avoid sugar, alcohol, caffeine, along with any fast food etc.  This makes perfect sense.  The sugar isn’t hard to avoid, except for red licorice…which is a blog post all its own.  I am not a real drinker, so no real worries there.  I don’t eat meat, so except for a wild hair for McDonalds fries sometimes, I don’t eat fast food.

The caffeine…*sigh*  … I love coffee.  I know its not great for me…I have gone without at times but always go back.  I have endured the caffeine withdrawal headaches for 3 days until I could stand the mornings without caffeine.  I have tried to drink herbal tea in the mornings, which is a nice hot beverage, but really?  My sister makes the best coffee in the universe.  I make OK coffee, but for some reason, her coffee is heaven.  I can be doing fine, drinking my wimpy herbal tea in the morning, and then I visit her…all resolve slips away at the thought of a cup of her coffee.  Sitting on her porch steps drinking a cup of her coffee in the early morning mist…that is what perfect is made out of.

We have gotten off track… I decided that cutting down on my caffeine intake would be good- so i bought the “half caff” organic, water decanted coffee beans at the HyVee.  I felt pretty good about this.  I was being responsible about this caffeine addiction thing I have.  I was still enjoying a bit of caffeine, still drinking pretend coffee, feeling normal, yet I was doing a good thing…less caffeine.  >pats self on back, while nodding<

A jeep I was behind while drinking my espresso, and the planets aligned in the universe…sending me a message.

last week I ran out of my ‘half caff’ beans…and i didn’t have time to get to the HyVee…so as I rummaged thru my freezer on a harried morning last week, all I could find was Italian espresso beans…are you feeling it?… do you see the end of this story?  I know, I know…I hear you…you are saying, “why, Pat? why, if you are committed to your recovery, would you still have espresso beans in your freezer?”

And to that I would say, “let it be.  Some things are not meant to be messed with…”

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary
    Aug 26, 2012 @ 08:48:41

    I would love to meet your sister, on her porch, early in the morning when her coffee is hot and fresh.

    Reply

  2. Monica
    Aug 26, 2012 @ 09:04:19

    Thank God, Pat, when I first started reading this, I was sure that you had lost your mind! Coffee, is the first sign that man is or might be civilized, and everyone NEEDS an addiction, a guilty pleasure……. coffee is pretty tame to some and it is legal! haha love you!

    Reply

  3. Rocky L
    Aug 26, 2012 @ 10:40:12

    Just wanted you to know I’m thinking about you….love u!
    R

    Reply

  4. Pat
    Aug 26, 2012 @ 12:37:04

    We all need one vice, if yours is espresso, then good for you :-). In addition, I suspect the secret to your sister’s coffee, in addition to her skill, is that someone made it for you. I think this corresponds to the healing effects of chicken soup, the love is brewed/stewed into it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Top Clicks

  • None
