Hear me roar!

One of a grouch’s greatest joys is rackety, clattering, jangly noise! ~ Oscar the Grouch

So over a month ago, Journi and I had a collision and i spilled coffee on the edge of my laptop.  It was only a tiny bit, hardly any at all…but within an hour my “a” and my “s” were gone…and then my “q”…and my “z”…oh, and let’s not forget about my “1”, and my shift key on the left, my tab key and my caps lock…my escape key… and the little cute “~” mark .

One has no idea how many words you use the “a” and the “s” for…i got along pretty well without the “q” and the “z”, but a couple of my passwords have those letters.  So I bought an external keyboard for $10…it got me by, but I HATED it.  The external keyboard is rattly, clattering, rackety and just plain clumsy…and it took the ease out of writing and made it feel external.  My mind spoke more quickly than that keyboard could clatter out the words.  It was like going thru an interpreter.  I couldn’t afford the $200 it was going to cost to take it in to be fixed.

And so i quit writing.

A coworker suggested that I could save money if I bought a keyboard online and replaced it myself.  This idea terrified me. Its a laptop, for goodness sake! What if I get it apart and i can’t get it all back in there again!?  But I was desperate to have my mac back in working order, so I ordered one.

When the keyboard arrived, i looked it with suspicion. However, after watching numerous youtube videos (of a very nice lady from Smalldog Electronics)…assembling my tools and setting aside some time, I was ready.  You could almost hear the Dragnet-type music in the background when I began.  With the youtube video playing on the iPad, the nice lady and I worked thru the whole process- removing all the screws (all 17 of the external ones), releasing the clips, disconnecting the logic board cable, the backlight cable, the trackpad cable, the 10 internal screws, removing the keyboard, reconnecting everything and putting together everything again.

When i was finished, i just stared at it…afraid to see if it worked.

it does.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Alexis
    Dec 10, 2011 @ 20:04:06

    That’s awesome! You rock lady! That would give me heart palpitations, as I’m pretty crazy when it comes to my laptop and tinkering. I basically lose my cool. So you, my friend, are a genius in my eyes.

    Reply

  2. Monica
    Dec 10, 2011 @ 21:04:40

    Don’t you love when you surprise yourself? My mother was right, you really can learn to do anything!

    Reply

  3. vesselsandjourneys
    Dec 10, 2011 @ 21:51:48

    oh, if you could have felt my tummy as I was dismembering it, i was ready to throw up… once all the screws were out, there are these clips you have to pop out just right, or you will break them, and i was focusing so much on not breaking the clips, that the cable from the keyboard to the logic board inside just popped off, when i wasn’t looking at it- and i had NO idea where it came off from…my lady on the video had told me about that cable, but i didn’t realize it would come off like that. I was horrified! But once i could start breathing again, I realized there was only one spot it would fit into…it was ok. after i got it all back together, i just looked at it. Took me easily 20 minutes before i tried the keyboard. Sooo awesome when it worked!

    Reply

  4. Writer Jobs
    Dec 10, 2011 @ 22:16:40

    Great post thanks. I really enjoyed it very much.

    Love writing? We would love for you to join us!

    Writers Wanted

    Reply

Leave a Reply

