a break from the storm

i walked under an umbrella this week.  It was my first time.  I have owned many umbrellas in my life…decorative ones made of tissue paper that i hung in the corners of my apartment when i was in college, cheap vinyl ones i bought for my girls when they were young, itty bitty colorful ones from my drink that I took home in my pocket, a large lime green beach one that advertises a brand of liquor (i think it was pilfered from a business by an acquaintance)… umbrellas have always fascinated me, how they open so big, how Mary Poppins was able to fly with one, and how they fold up so tiny again… Last year I was given a purple and white one by a testing company as a promotional item which i have faithfully kept in my car …and have forgotten every time it rained.  But on Wednesday when I returned to work after lunch, it was raining.  I got my umbrella out of the car and opened it and walked into the building.

I cannot even describe how peaceful that was… the rain was pouring and I was walking under my umbrella.  I almost wanted to take a lap around the parking lot just to experience it a bit more.  It was like a forcefield around me, a protective bubble…i was safe and dry in the midst of the rain…and unless someone else wanted to step out into the downpour to get to me, i was isolated from interruption.

And really, i am not THAT important, am I?- that someone would come out in the pouring rain to get me………well, unless I was standing out there for an hour or more- like right in front of the school…and they could see me from the windows.  I tend to think they would come get me then…but it would be more because they thought i was a bit unbalanced, not because they needed me 🙂

Which brings me to my point.  The world does not stop without us.  Sometimes i am reluctant to take a break, a breath, a day off, a trip around the parking lot under an umbrella because I think life can’t move at a satisfactory pace without me at the helm…NEWSFLASH… people can cope without me for a bit…and unless I take a break, i won’t get one…and sometimes I really really need one.

So I am getting better.  I think i will get some of those pretty rainboots to match my umbrella…

Leave a Reply

