home again…

i have been out of reach for a few weeks- my laptop’s battery and charger both died in the same 24 hour period and i was without a computer…omg. it was like being without my car, or away from home for an extended length of time.  I was kyping Michaela’s laptop when i could, but it felt awkward, like i was a guest in someone’s home, and I couldn’t relax, couldn’t write… thank god my charger came in the mail today, and I am home again on my Mac.

So i have been taking an online class this month, its called Emerge.  I registered for it months ago, when i realized i was turning 50 this year.  Its about navigating a transition in your creative life.  Every day there are assignments to do that challenge you.  One day there was one about breathing, another day there was one that assigned you the task to take 3 photos – one of something beautiful, one of something wild and one of something changing.  There is discussion with the other members of the class.  Amazing strong women…   Transition takes many forms.  There are those who are going thru a divorce, or an empty nest, a child being born, buying a home, starting a business, ending a business.

Today our assignment is LISTS.  We are to make 3 lists:

Obsessions and preoccupations:

  • books
  • old letters and postage,
  • handwriting,
  • fonts,
  • maps,
  • voyages,
  • beautiful handblown glass- clear with color running thru it,
  • beads,
  • layers and layers of things showing history,
  • time travel,
  • artifacts,
  • untold stories,
  • keys,
  • true love,
  • portholes,
  • old houses,
  • anything with a story

What I know:
i know how to

  • handle a crisis,
  • friend someone,
  • listen,
  • look thru someone,
  • make a master schedule,
  • throw a pot,
  • fire a kiln,
  • clean the fridge,
  • raise a child,
  • be flexible,
  • let go of someone,
  • make bread and chocolate chip cookies,
  • live on a $1 for a month,
  • change a fuel pump,
  • spin yarn from wool,
  • build a webpage

What I don’t know:
I don’t know how to

  • split firewood,
  • make it rain,
  • grow a garden,
  • eat less,
  • build a deck,
  • program a universal remote or hook up stereo speakers,
  • make cotton candy,
  • write a book,
  • put the ‘tab’ key-top back on my keyboard,
  • make you hurt less.

My lists surprised me… well, part of it- i knew my obsessions 🙂  But the ‘what i know’ and ‘what i don’t know’… those were interesting.  I felt that the things i didn’t know were inadequacies in me (even tho that I would say to someone else that these are ‘opportunities to learn’)

What are your lists? I would love to hear about them!

 

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Monica
    Aug 19, 2011 @ 06:45:00

    I believe I will have my students do these lists today for writing! Rather interesting.

    Reply

  2. your sister
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 18:03:26

    Does it seem odd that for “Things You Can’t Do” you listed an act of nature? Rain! You can’t make it rain? But I suppose making it snow is effortless? Sleet? Drizzle? What are your limitations when changing the weather?

    Very interesting obsessions. I like those.

    How does one live on a $1 a month? I’d like some sort of visual representation of that.

    And, I don’t think “friending” someone is a talent. I’m no fan of Facebook, but I’m pretty sure all you do is push a button.

    What about looking good in a hat? Oh wait…that’s mine (: (Sorry. I couldn’t help it.)

    loves

    Reply

    • vesselsandjourneys
      Aug 23, 2011 @ 18:54:43

      haha, when i first started reading this, i thought “who the heck is this smart *ss?! This is why they let us moderate comments- so we don’t have to put up with abuse!” By the word ‘visual representation’, i had a strong suspicion it was you, and then i read the ‘hat’ part 🙂 LOVE you so much! And yes, i can make it snow- all i have to say is “I hate winter…if i see one more snowflake, i am going to cry…” and it snows…the other sentence that will bring the snow down by the bushel is “i think its spring finally”. Living on $1 a month- not so hard… if the bills are paid, you just hold your breath and eat everything that you have in the cupboard, including the can of pumpkin or garbanzo beans way in the back- you don’t buy groceries, you don’t go anywhere, you ask for rides to work saying your car is waiting for a part to come in, and you don’t open the mail. If bills aren’t paid, then you dodge them, and you don’t answer the phone either. Friending someone is not a ‘talent’, but it is something i know how to do- both on Facebook, and in real life face to face too. And yes, you are the one who looks amazing in a hat. Love you.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

