charge it, buy it, have it, wear it, use it, store it, charge it, buy it……

so when i made this decision to have a yard sale…a month ago, it was a sane decision.  I knew i had a storage garage full of things and I couldn’t keep it all in storage indefinitely.  Much of it isn’t mine, storing it for my daughter, but when she said, “yes, let’s sell it!”, i was off and running.  I trundled back and forth to the house with box after box of stuff, sorting, tossing, bundling, labeling and pricing.

And then I started on my own things.  I thought i really didn’t have much to sell, but as I looked at my house, I realized there was an excess of STUFF around here.  My bookcase was packed with books that I didn’t read anymore, i had movies that i didn’t watch, appliances I didn’t use, clothes i didn’t wear, furniture that was taking up space, for example- a huge TV that was sitting on the floor in the library- just sitting…not plugged in…oh, yeah, i needed that there.

when i put the first book in the “yard sale box”, i winced… I love books.  Several years ago, when our budget was being reviewed by a credit counseling woman, she was clueless as to why we didn’t have more available cash, until she found my Amazon and Borders purchases…just kept shaking her head and saying “well, this money has to be going somewhere…” Parting with books is a bit painful for me.  But by the time the first boxful was gone from the shelves, I was flinging with abandon! It felt soooooo good!!!  Some of these books were from a different time, when I believed different things…i wanted them gone!  Later, as I was dusting my empty shelves in the library, I marveled at how much cleaner I felt- I felt less dusty and cluttered internally!

as a counselor, i help countless people make some internal changes to see external change, but here was an external change that brought about an internal change…decluttering! What a fabulous idea…in this age where we always think we need more, more, more…charge it, have it, buy it, wear it, store it, charge it, have it, buy it, use it, store it… WE DON’T NEED MORE!

Designate one small area of your house, your space to declutter…doesn’t have to be massive, you don’t have to live in a yurt, and eat only rice and beans…just pick one place to simplify, to let breathe…

i think you will be surprised at the difference it will make in your spirit.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Monica
    Jul 30, 2011 @ 06:31:34

    Last summer, I was truly very sick, I could not do hardly anything. The house seemed to fall in on itself and on me. I was thinking I was going to have to hire cleaning help, or quit my job, I just could not do it.

    Then I found this crazy website, flylady.net. She calls it babysteps, just 15 minutes at a time, anyone can do 15 minutes at a time. She says you cannot organize clutter, and that it owns you, you are a slave to it. She says bless someone else. When we hoard, it is due to a fear, that later if we need it, we won’t be able to get it. She says we often keep stuff for the memories…. good ones and get this, bad ones.

    I know just what you mean about books, but there are books that are old friends, and ones I do not care if I ever see again. Same with clothes, why would I keep ugly clothes? Is there a day I need to be ugly?

    She has made a huge difference in my home, I have a beautiful peaceful home into which anyone can come at any time. I am no longer in chaos and desperation, I do not have to juggle 15 balls in the air. It is wonderful. My kids cannot believe how clean it is, deep down clean.

    Getting rid of that stuff is like opening the drawer of socks, or lifting up the rug. hahaha! Order is peaceful, having things ready is a relief. It is great way to live, with the things I truly love and use, and to trust God for the rest.

    Love you, and so glad you share with us. It is like having coffee with you, love you much.

    Monica

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Top Clicks

  • None
