do you believe in wings?

Today Dean and Journi were in the store room, looking at the new kittens we have.  I could hear them in there, visiting about the kitties and how big they were getting.  Made me smile.  And as Journi came bouncing back into the living room, she was carrying a pair of wings.  Nymph wings from a Halloween years ago, wire framed with green panty hose material stretched over them, glittery and wispy.  Obviously she had found them in the storeroom closet.  Journi was quite excited about them- shouting “Weeengs, weeengs!”  When she brought them to me, I helped her put them on, stretching the elastic over her shoulders so the wings flopped on her back.

And then she grabbed my heart… “fly?”

She asked it with such belief and earnestness…it killed me to try to explain that these wings are just for pretty, not for real flying.

That’s the difference between children and adults, you know.

If I found a pair of wings, i would assume they were non functional until proven otherwise.  Yet a child assumes they are fully able to carry them to wherever they want to go.

makes me wonder what sorts of gifts i have, that I have set aside- assuming that they wouldn’t fly…

what about you?

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Monica
    Jun 13, 2011 @ 16:40:19

    Perhaps it will sound like bragging, but that is not my intent, but I have always done what I wanted to do. I have always had a fairly clear sense of what I wanted to do, some goals/dreams were tweaked along the way, but the main ones got done.

    I was always willing to pay the price to do so, it has always amazed me that many people are not willing to pay the price or take the chance. However, it is this trait in Kerry that scares me, so go figure.

    Reply

  2. Monica
    Jun 13, 2011 @ 16:41:09

    Maybe I am not suppose to reply, do others? But I greatly enjoy reading these and thinking about them, pondering on them a bit. love you much

    Reply

    • vesselsandjourneys
      Jun 13, 2011 @ 17:03:26

      Monica, I LOVE that you reply 🙂 Don’t wanna be talkin to myself all the time, you know 🙂 Yes, you are supposed to reply…no one else has quite gotten the idea yet. As usual, you are just ahead of the crowd 🙂 Isn’t that weird, that the traits that sometimes we treasure, or at least have made peace with in ourselves, bring about a reaction when we see the same thing in our kids?! 🙂 You would think we would just go, “Oh yeah…i do that.” I am glad you are enjoying the blog 🙂 I am having fun writing it- the subjects, even when i have something else picked out, tend to come out of nowhere…or out of Journi’s mouth 🙂 love you much too, my friend!

      Reply

  3. Jen Thomas
    Jun 13, 2011 @ 20:29:15

    I can never reply because I am toooooooo busy wiping tears from my eyes! You have the BEST blogs ever! I LOVE YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Top Clicks

  • None
