timing…my dear, its all about timing…

I’ll tell you how the sun rose a ribbon at a time.  ~Emily Dickinson

As I was sitting here in the early morning, before the sun came up, drinking that first cup of coffee…you know the one…the very first strong one, where there is barely enough in the pot for a cup of coffee, but you rob the pot to fill your cup?  Ah yes, that one…

In my jammies, cradling my coffee in my favorite mug and mentally considering what I would post here today…well, and i diagrammed the kiln shelf layout in my head of a new kiln…and I sang the Dora the Explorer song (because it was stuck in my head) … and I thought about how to devise a rainwater cache system for my studio…and i planned how to paint Starry Night on an interior wall of my house… and I…well, you get the idea.

My early mornings are the most creative for me, its quiet and dark and I feel like the day has so many possibilities.  I need quiet to create.

Before I realized that mornings were my prime time, i didn’t plan any quiet time, and the day would pass.  At the end of the day, I felt blah, like I had wasted it, but didn’t know how to change it.

Now I get up very early to have that time to myself…we all need a bit of time to ourselves.

So here is your question for today…

ps. i didn’t sing the Dora song outloud…just soft, to myself …that’s how i sing in the morning…

Leave a Reply

